Mississippi Board of Education

The Mississippi Board of Education is made up of nine members. Each member is appointed according to the rules in the Mississippi Constitution. The Board appoints the State Superintendent of Education, sets public education policy and oversees the Mississippi Department of Education.

Section 203 of the Mississippi Constitution was amended on July 1, 1984. It requires that the Mississippi Governor shall appoint one (1) member from Mississippi's Northern Supreme Court District, one (1) member from Mississippi's Central Supreme Court District, one (1) member from Mississippi's Southern Supreme Court District, one (1) member who is employed as a school administrator, and one (1) member who is employed as a public school teacher. Additionally, the Lieutenant Governor shall appoint two (2) members at-large, and the Speaker of the Mississippi House of Representatives shall appoint two (2) members at-large.

Educational Priorities and Board Mission
In its role as a policy maker, the Board of Education has a vision, mission, and set of goals. To further its efforts to create a world-class education system, the Board has also published its legislative priorities for the 2010 legislative year. You can view the board's legislative priorities here.

Current Board Members

 src="/sf-images/about-mde-board-of-edu/gannwallet_1.jpg"  Dr. O. Wayne Gann, Chair
Term expires July, 2015
At-Large Representative

109 Dunbar Avenue
Corinth, MS 38834
Ph: 662-287-4672
Fax: 662-286-1885


Mr. Howell “Hal” N. Gage, Vice-Chair
Term expires July, 2016
1st Supreme Court District Representative

Riverhills Bank
1400 Hwy. 61 North Bypass
Vicksburg, MS 39183
Office: 601-661-7308
Fax: 601-636-6339


Mrs. Kami Bumgarner
Term expires July, 2018
Teacher Representative

Madison Middle School
1365 Mannsdale Road
Madison, MS 39110
Ph: 601-605-4171


Mr. William Harold Jones
Term expires July, 2017
At-Large Representative

P.O. Box 282
Petal, MS 39465
Ph: 601-545-8324
Fax: 601-545-8389

Photo to Come

Dr. John R. Kelly
Term Expires 2020
Chief Administrative Officer

City of Gulfport
Post Office Box 1780
Gulfport, MS, 39502-1780
Ph: 228-868-5770


Mr. Charles McClelland
Term expires July, 2019
At-Large Representative

6252 Winthrop Circle
Jackson, MS 39206
Ph: 601-366-9499

Photo to Come

Mr. Richard Morrison
Term begins on June 1, 2012

1220 Apple Park Place
Brandon, MS 39042
Office: 601-825-5590


Mrs. Martha "Jackie" Murphy
Term expires July, 2013
At-Large Representative

57 CR 8050
Rienzi, MS 38865
Ph: 662-728-6904

Photo to Come

Mr. Simon F. Weir, II
Term begins on July, 2012

94 Pleasant Bend Cove
Hernando, MS 38632
Ph: 662-349-4200


Dr. Lynn House
Interim State Superintendent of Education

Mississippi Department of Education
P.O. Box 771
Jackson, MS 39205
Ph: 601-359-1750
Fax: 601-359-3242

Mississippi Department of Education     P.O. Box 771     Jackson, MS 39205-0771     General Information: 601-359-3513

Copyright © 2012 Mississippi Department of Education – Agency Web DisclaimerNotice of Non-Discrimination